Hi guys!

Augusteena here again! Some of you might not know it, but I took Visual Arts Theory as a minor during my time training to be a Warrior Priest. While more than a few people thought is was a waste of time (yes, I’m looking at you mum!), I’ve found my knowledge of the arts has really informed my travels. Especially in Troll Country, where the locals seem to have a real flair for using “found objects” in their art. Take this example….

A really expressive piece of work!

A really expressive piece of work!

… a charming and very expressive piece. Clearly the artist (now dead, his corpse was lying near by) was exploring his fear and dread of death, mocking both it’s finality and universality. The rough hewn wood compliments the dull metal of the chest piece. The piece speaks to the viewer;  “Oh, I’m deeeeeath! Here I come!”.

And while I just loved, loved, loved that piece, Ive found some of the local artists have taken the use of found objects to a whole new level…

Powerful commentary on the war between Man and Nature...

Powerful commentary on the war between Man and Nature...

…like this powerful piece commenting on the conflict between the locals and the trolls of the region. It has such pathos and raw emotion. Clearly the artist shows sympathy for the slain trolls, prompting the viewer to question the  dismembering, slaying, chopping, stabbing, shooting, burning, hanging and gutting of these powerful and majestic animals. The conflcit between Man and Nature summoned up in this one work!

Brilliant! How the tears welled up in my eyes when I saw this piece! And not just from the smell either!!!!

Well, hope to write again soon. I’m sure this is much more of the local arts to see here in Troll Country!

XOXO

